About ICAI Surat Branch
The Surat Branch of WIRC of ICAI was established in 1971 under the able chairmanship of CA. I.J.Desai, the iron man of surat and a legendary person. The Surat Branch caters the needs of members and students of South Gujarat.
During the initial years, the branch activities awere carried on sucessfully from the office of past chairman CA. Y.B. Desai for 16 years. During these years, CA. Y.B.Desai nurtured and fostered the Surat Branch as a baby with great zealand utmost care.

It was in the year, 1986-87 that with the admirable foresight of the past chairmenand efforts of the members of the branch, the branch could get the distinction of being the first branch to have acquired its own office premises under the chairmanship of CA. Kishor R. Gheewala. The branch office premise was inaugurated by CA. Balasubramanium, the then president of ICAI.

With the painstaking efforts of the members and students as well as ample guidance and support of CA.Rupin Patchigar, past chairman and the then member of WIRC, the branch could secure the ICAI's examination centre at Surat.

Underthe able chairmanship of CA.Hiren M.Diwan, the branch had successfully orgarnized for the first time Regional Conference in 1990-91.

In 1996, under the able chairmanship of CA. B.K.Rathi, the branch celebrated its silver Jubilee and received first ever award as the best branch in the Western Region and Second best branch in India. Hissuccessor, CA. Ramesh Goyal, also repeated the same feat in 1997.

In 1998, under the chairmanship of CA. Vinod Goyal the branch created a history and was adjudged the best branch in India. The branch was also able to retain the Western Region best branch trophy permanently as it was adjudged best branch in region for consecutively third time. Also during 1998, the branch published its first ever members' directory.

In 1999, under the chairmanship of CA.Keyur Mehta, the branch received the certificate of highly commendable performance.

In 2000, under the chairmanship CA. R.V.Chandak the branch received the award of best branch of the region.

In 2001, under the chairmanship of CA. Shyamanand Chaudhari, the branch received the certificate of highly commendable performance.

In 2004, the branch under the chairmanship of CA. Rajesh G.Jain successfully arranged The All India Conference on Auditing and Corporate Laws.

In 2005, the branch was completely renovated and obtained the permission to start the decentralizedoffice under the chairmanship of CA.Jay Chhaira.

Then in 2006, the branch successfully started the operation of decentralised office under the chairmanship of CA.Surendra Gaggar.

In 2007, Surat became the centre for campus interview and new directory of members was released under the chairmanship of CA.Hardik P.Shah.

In 2008, Surat branch received the Best WICASA award under the chairmanship of CA. Mitesh Modi.

In 2009, Surat branch conducted a mega Entertainment Programme at Indoor Statdium which was attended by more than 10,000 citizens under the chairmanship of CA. Manish Jajoo.

In 2010, under the chairmanship CA. Hitendra Mody the branch shifted to new leased premises at 2nd Floor, Saifee Building, Nanpura, Surat admeasuring 7000 sq fts. Wherein all the branch activities including DCO and students' activitiesare carried on under one roof.

During 2011, under the chairmanship of CA. Harishankar Tosniwal, the branch organiseda National Confernce as well as a WIRCDiamond Jubilee Mega Conference.

Members of Surat Branch CA. Rupin Patchigar, CA. B.K Rathi and CA. Jay Chhaira havebeen elected to WIRC for the term 1986-92(two terms), 2007-09 and 2010-12 respectively.

CA. Rupin Patchigar served as Vice-Chairman of WIRC during 1991-92 and CA. B.K Rathi have also served as Vice-Chairman of WIRC during 2009.

Thebranch is now serving more than 1500 members and more than 12000 students.